HISTORY OF SHENANDOAH
Immerse yourself in the extensive heritage of the Shenandoah Valley and relive the history of our nation.
Shenandoah County offers an array of museums and cultural sites enabling visitors to go beyond the
history books by learning the personal stories and unique experiences that shaped our region and our Country.
2022 will be a year of celebration, a time to remember the past 250 years and to share our unique story.
Explore the medical service in Shenandoah County during the Civil War. This brochure tells the story of makeshift hospitals and how county residents cared for soldiers, regardless of what uniform they wore. Read quotes from resident diaries, learn of the food contributions made to local hospitals when residents had so little food to spare, and learn about where you can go to see the exhibits at area museums.
Located inside the Lee Ranger District Office in Edinburg, This museum tells the story of the Civilian Conservation Corps, and gives insight into the life and daily activities of the people who enlisted and under the CCC program developed under Franklin Delano Roosevelt’s “New Deal”. The very first CCC camp, “Camp Roosevelt” was opened in Shenandoah County in 1933.
102 Koontz St, Edinburg, VA 22824 | (540) 984-4101
From Back Country to Breadbasket to Battlefield — and Beyond The Shenandoah Valley invites you to learn about its rich heritage, from Native Americans who first shaped the land, to the pioneers of this frontier; this fertile area became one of the most important wheat producing regions of the entire South. The Valley also witnessed some of the most dramatic events of the Civil War, including the Battle of Cedar Creek, a decisive October 19,1864 Union victory.
7712 Main Street, Middletown, VA 22645 | 540-869-3051
This antebellum cemetery is the final resting place for the formerly enslaved African Americans associated with Edge Hill Plantation. The once abandoned graves have been cleaned up, preserved, and researched by a group of concerned community members. The site has a wooded walking path, a kiosk with educational information and a cairn sculpture that allows visitors to place a stone in remembrance to those buried in the cemetery. NSVMGA mater gardeners maintain the site which is open to the public daily from dawn to dusk. Please close the gates behind you when visiting.
2883 Quicksburg Road, Quicksburg, VA 22847 | 434-922-2029
Part of Sheridan’s 1864 Shenandoah Valley Campaign, this battlefield site has interpretive signage and scenic views. Located off Battlefield Road between Toms Brook and Strasburg.
1864 Battlefield Rd., Toms Brook, VA 22660
A bright and welcoming community museum, enabling visitors to explore life in 19th Century Fort valley. Exhibits include a school, church, store, and home display as well as Seven Fountains Resort, Iron Furnaces, local valley pottery and the farmstead. Open Memorial Day weekend through October, Saturdays: 1-4 pm Sundays: 2-5 pm
8631 Fort valley Rd., Fort Valley, VA 22652
Walking trails through the Civil War earthworks provide visitors with a relaxing stroll through the beautiful grounds and a fresh perspective of the history of the site. The museum tells the story of the Shenandoah Valley in 1864 and the variety of battles and actions that occurred, as well as the hardships the women and children endured to maintain the homes. Numerous displays and artifacts are available for viewing and learning as well as a theater with DVD presentations. The museum also offers a well stocked gift and book shop as well as souvenirs.
33229 Old Valley Pike, Strasburg, VA 22657 | 540-465-5884
Tourists from miles around pay a visit to one of the best-known covered bridges in Virginia. Spanning 204 feet across the Shenandoah River, Meem’s Bottom is the last publicly maintained bridge in the state that visitors can still drive through. Although the original bridge was burned by vandals on Halloween 1976, the current bridge was reconstructed using original timbers.
Constructed in 1795 of native limestone, the Shenandoah County Historic Courthouse is the oldest courthouse in continuous use west of the Blue Ridge Mountains. It saw much activity during the Civil War with troops from both sides, leaving their mark with graffiti on interior walls. Open Thursday-Saturday, 11am – 4pm, the building now serves as a museum and visitor center and is home to the Shenandoah County Historical Society.
103 North Main Street, Woodstock, VA 22664 | 540-459-6227 or 540-459-1795
This web-based tour platform allows you to explore the history and culture of Shenandoah County. See historic photographs of sites around the county and delve deeper into the history of the region without leaving your home.
Located in the historic Edinburg Mill, which was originally constructed in 1848. The building is famous for being one of the few mills in the Shenandoah Valley that was not burned by Sheridan during the Civil War. The museum is now open Monday-Saturday, 9:30 am – 5:30 pm and Sundays 12 pm-5 pm and is home to a variety of exhibits featuring life throughout the Shenandoah Valley including exhibits on the Civil War, the nation’s first Civilian Conservation Camp, an extensive Red Cross exhibit and many other relics.
214 S. Main St., Edinburg, VA 22824 | 540-984-8400
Housed in a Southern Railway depot, the Museum exhibits include 18th, 19th, and 20th century pieces and items from Colonial farms, barns, and homes. Native American artifacts, Civil War articles, a railway baggage car, three Victorian-style rooms, and a large collection of Strasburg pottery. Open daily May 1 – October 31. Admission is $3.00 for adults; $1.00 for teenagers; and .50 for children 12 and under.
440 E. King St., Strasburg, VA 22657 | 540-465-3175
The Virginia Museum of the Civil War is the only state-owned Civil War museum and is administered by the Virginia Military Institute (VMI). The site consists of three elements: The Virginia Museum of the Civil War, the New Market Battlefield State Historical Park and the Historic Bushong Farm. The site is on the National Register of Historic Places and is part of the Virginia Birding and Wildlife Trail System.
8895 George Collins Parkway, New Market, VA 22844 | 866-515-1864
The Woodstock Museum consists of two 18th Century houses located within a block of one another. Both of the houses, the Marshall House and the Wickham House, have historic connections to the Shenandoah County Historic Courthouse located just a block away. Open Thursday – Saturday from 1-4 pm, May –October free of charge but donations are gratefully accepted. Also open by appointment.
104 S. Muhlenberg St., Woodstock, VA 22664 | 540-459-5518
Sometimes called the “Little Church,” the Union Church has long been a landmark of the Mount Jackson area. The original building on this site was a wooden one, and with the surrounding land was bequeathed to the community by the will of Reuben Moore dated
June 11, 1822.
Open Saturday and Sunday
5401 Main St
Mount Jackson, VA 22842
CHECK OUT OUR INSTAGRAM profile and follow us for your next adventure
CHECK OUT OUR INSTAGRAM profile and follow us for your next adventure